Excessive use of the words 'You' or 'Your'

Hey, everyone!

With my work on Estheria, I’m still relatively new to writing in 2nd person. I’ve considered whether I’ve overused the words ‘you’ and ‘your’ or their other derivatives.

I’m attaching an example image from my character creator. It is heavily unedited at this time. Thanks!

Image Within!

I figured I’d ask opinions, and appreciate any thoughts or feedback!

2 Likes

Speaking purely from a reader’s perspective, I think you are getting in your head a little about it. It doesn’t strike me as particularly egregious overuse. In fact if it hadn’t come up in this context I wouldn’t have thought twice about it.

18 Likes

Hey Lance!

I appreciate the feedback. Ultimately, I figured I most likely was. My main doubts emerge from my lack of experience in writing second person compared to the other two dominant types. I don’t doubt that I’m in my head to some extent. :joy:

1 Like

I really feel like there’s no difference in writing second person and third. If you were writing about a “him” instead of a “you”, would you think the same section had too many he/him/his?

If you feel like you’re using “you” too much, you could try writing the passage in third person as a writing exercise and see if you would write it differently like that. If you find you do and you would, then try adapting that back to second person.

Also, I bet the other character saying “you” has influenced you to think you’re saying “you” too much. But, like, she has to say that and those ones don’t really count anyway, do they?

I also get obsessive about things like this though, so I understand, and I think you’re good right now.

5 Likes

I appreciate it, Chloe!

The perspective helped clear my mind a bit. I’ve been working to adapt my style to the second person and ensure it flows properly, part of that involved my doubts with overusing the word, haha.