Being familiar with other coding languages helps with choice script?

Just wondering if knowing any other coding languages helps you to work with choice script or understand it better.
I just know a bit of self-taught HTML and CSS, so I know how indentation works for example, as well as else and if…
What do you guys think?

1 Like

hummm. Well not exactly. Choicescript kinda remind me of old interpreted script languages like BASIC, Does anyone still code in basic? Well probably just for fun.

Answering your question I believe that studying algorithm is a plus. It helps you, training your mind into solve puzzles. Don’t get me wrong: Programming is basically create and solve Puzzles, mostly.

That’s my two cents my friend! :smiley:

CS is a very simple language, completely focused on writing games for CoG… If you know a little bit of our languages you’ll find it super-easy! (Well, it also has some more complicated functions, but you don’t need those for most games!)

1 Like

Yup. Like I said choicescript is so simple that if you want to use a foreach or a ‘array’ you will need to code much more implementing it with *labels and *gosubs than if you are just using standard programming languages were these kind of things are common commands.

2 Likes

I also started coding on CSS and HTML, but it was so long ago I hardly remember it. So I guess that makes my answer no, it didn’t help, but mostly because CS is such a simple language it really doesn’t matter

1 Like

A little JavaScript might help. It’s helpful to have the background because it makes it easier to truly understand things like conditionals, variable assignment, variable scope… But it’s also a detriment, because there are a lot of significant ways in which CS differs from a “real”, fully fledged programming language. Most of these are things that are elided to make it more usable for writers, but for a programmer it can be frustrating. There are things I expect to be able to do that are illegal in CS.