An Insane Person Explains Why They Didn't Like Choice Of The Dragon

DISCLAIMER: This is an overly long op-ed practice piece to train my critical eye and writing talents, for use in my own projects. I’m an amateur with little to no credibility and should be treated as such.

DISCLAIMER: I’m insane.

Hello, other people! I didn’t like something, so I’m posting it on the internet and expecting everyone to agree with me because I said so. That always works.

Today, I want to critique Choice of the Dragon. I didn’t like it, which means everyone that likes it is wrong. But at least there’s some parts I liked, and if you didn’t like them, go away. I don’t write opinions to convince people. Jeez.

First of all, frickin’ dragons. Frickin’ dragons are awesome. They’re frickin’ dragons. But what about frickin’ dragons makes them frickin’ dragons? Well, shut up. Stop questioning me!

Anyways, frickin’ dragons. You see, frickin’ dragons are powerful. Like, they wreck cities and battle Godzilla. That’s awesome. But more importantly, it’s an opportunity. Your normal power fantasy is ostensibly grounded, in the sense that it at least resembles real life. But that causes all sorts of problems.

First, when a piece of media at least superficially looks like real life, it can be confused for reality. While I can’t cite any studies on the topic (a quick search found no significant high-quality research on the subject), I can cite the entire advertising industry. If media couldn’t influence people, then we wouldn’t have backroom license agreements and opaque government funding. So when I see a power fantasy portraying anything but clear fantasy, I get a little bit uncomfortable. It’s not trying to be realistic, it might not even intend to trick people, but the road to hell is paved with good intentions.