A Sherlock Holmes Game

I’m thinking about making a Sherlock Holmes mystery game, based off the original stories written in the 1890’s. The stories are so old that they’re in the public domain and no longer copyrighted, which means anyone is free to use them. A text-based game seems like an ideal medium for adapting a written story.

I’ve never used choicescript before, so it took me a couple of days to write up a small demo, which covers the first chapter of “Sherlock Holmes: The Valley of Fear”.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/216691320/web/mygame/index.html

I’m hoping to get feedback from my friends and other people, before deciding whether or not to proceed with the project. I’m currently wondering how long the final game should be (four or five cases sounds about right), whether I should modernize the Victorian-era language, and whether I should start cutting out huge chunks of dialogue, because Sherlock talks A LOT.

Actually they aren’t public domain. Sorry about that.
Someone currently owns them, though who I don’t know. There are lawsuits going around to make it public domain, but as of now it still remains private property.

@lost_gamer I thought that it was well written, but you can’t right a game about Sherlock Holmes. It is against the websites rules and against the law.

However, you can write about characters similar in qualities as Sherlock Holmes, just changing their names. Of course, this will most likely leave your story as being quoted as a Sherlock Holmes rip-off.
If this was me, I’d make major changes to it, but still keep the core intact. Make it a mystery game, but no Sherlock Holmes.

You could find another detective, one who is in the public domain and use them instead. Sherlock Holmes is a tricky case, unfortunately in regards to the copyrights. While it should be in public domain, it isn’t entirely.

Yep, I’d avoid Sherlock Holmes. That whole bucket of… everything is a nightmare.