Visual Differences

Greetings! As some of you may know, I’m working on using ChoiceScript in an educational setting. I’ve hammered out a number of issues, but now I’m stuck… And this won’t be the only time…

I’d like to give my students some visual cues to what they are reading. I’ve got the italic and bold down, but is there a way I can change the font color? And can I change it from scene to scene? Or can I change it within a scene?

A different idea would be to change the background color of the “Next” button at the bottom of the scene. Can I do that within a scene?

Or can I change the title (the gameTitle class in the index.html file) from scene to scene?

And I’ll go ahead and put this out there: I’m willing to pay (some, I’m only a college professor) to have a customized set of files for my educational use. This might mean some specialized tokens/words that would work in my environment, but not in the regular ChoiceScript universe… I’m spending enough time just writing the material, I’m not really ready to invest more time to write the code to suit my own needs to display the material…

Other ideas?

Thanks!

Eric

Im doing something similair for my sophmore civics teacher

You can call custom javascript functions with *script, for e. g.

*script changeFont()

Where changefont might look like:

function changeFont() {
document.getElementById(“text”).style.fontFamily = arial;
}

The only other way is to change the style.css file definitions, but to do it IN-game the only way is cucalling custom js functions.

@CJW Is there any real tutorial on this? 'Cause I like to think I got my hand around CS, but what you wrote flew right over my head. I get the gist of the idea, but I’d have no clue as to how to actually implement it.

If there is no tutorial, could you give me a couple of quick ideas so I can try to fill in the blanks and write one up for the wiki?

@Reaperoa

There is not. It’s not choicescript, but javascript.