Using images of characters when they're introduced/on the stats screen

I’m a brand new writer (and new to the forum, HI!), currently working on a contained story based around a small-scale sports tournament- the story starts at the start of the tournament, and runs through to the end of it. Really, I’m using the project to get back into writing, to get to grips with ChoiceScript and get familiar with how things work and test out what I can and can’t do. I’m impressed at the documentation for it, and have so far made some inroads into getting something coherent together.

One thing that I haven’t seen much of in the CoG games is images- I confess I’ve not played any Hosted Games myself, having only just stumbled upon the category, so it may be that they’re more prevalent there. I’m thinking specifically about using an image (say 300x300) as a kind of avatar when first introducing each character, which would then be reproduced in a smaller size by the relationship stat on the stats page.

I wondered if anyone had any particular thoughts or experience with doing anything along these lines? Is it worthwhile- do you find it adds to the story by giving a visual cue, or takes away from it, by leaving less to the imagination? I’m in two minds myself- if there’s one thing that I’ve struggled with in some of the longer CoG games (particularly fantasy/superhero ones), it’s keeping straight in my mind who is who.

Thanks.

2 Likes

It’s something I love.

I did this for my first game. Well I didn’t have the portraits show up when you met them, I did have a character screen though with blurbs about each character and a portrait of them courtesy of a very good friend of mine.