Unofficial ChoiceScript Audio Enhanced Plugin

The Unofficial Audio Enhanced plugin adds loops, volume controls, crossfades, and more to ChoiceScript. It uses javascript to automatically play music through the game itself on your command. It’s intended to be a framework for you to build your own custom audio solution through ChoiceScript itself. For instance, with Audio Enchanced, you could have a custom narrator for your game, or create a variable mix where specific instruments play depending on conditions.

I made this plugin on accident for my own in-development games, but it’s morphed into something I feel is worth sharing. Because of this, it’s untested on anything but my own PC, cannot be used in hosted games, and will break Quicktest and Randomtest. I’ll try to support this plugin the best I can, but keep in mind it’s a volunteer project by a self-taught programmer who taught themselves javascript just for this. However, if you’re the do-it-yourself kind of person, I’ve commented on every line of code to explain exactly what’s happening because I have no idea what I’m doing I’m a nice person. If you know ChoiceScript, then you might know enough to read javascript. Maybe. Possibly. Okay, it’s a bit more complicated than that, but ChoiceScript does teach some programming fundamentals and I’ll stop now.

Disclaimer:

As an unofficial plugin, this will break quicktest and randomtest. Your game will work fine, but the tests will fail. You can get around this by *commenting out the new commands before running the tests.

How to Install:

1. Download the plugin file (link) and save it as sePlugin.js.
  2. Place the plugin file in your game’s web folder.
  3. In your game’s web folder, create a new folder called audio (case sensitive). This is where you’ll be storing your sound files.
  4. Open your game’s web\mygame\index.html.
  5. In web\mygame\index.html, look for a block of code that looks like this:
<script src="../persist.js"></script>