Teaching with Choice of Robots in a college reading class

Hi folks!

I am a lecturer (read adjunct) at a community college. I’ve long been a fan of using interactive fiction in the classroom–especially for developing readers, since there’s the automatic “chunking” of the text into bite-sized pieces, plus the fun “gamification” aspect. I’m planning on using Choice of Robots with my developmental reading (as in, below “college” level) students to get them interested, engaged, and stretch their minds.

I’d love to hear what you folks think about this project.

• Will it be fun for the readers?
  • What do you think will be the most popular paths?
  • What big issues do you think we’ll find ourselves discussing?
  • What would you like to talk about in a class like this?

Whaddya think?

15 Likes
  1. It will be fun for the readers
  2. Any path but the military path (even though that one was my favorite)
  3. Morality
  4. Talking about whether robots should be treated like humans or not
6 Likes

I think this will definitely be fun for the avid reader of the class and even introduce reading as another form of entertainment for those not interested. We all want to escape this world from one time to another. Some use video games, books, etc. While there is customization options in some visual games, they are more often very linear, you now have an option of putting yourself in the story. And this is a fanstaic option for that escape.

Can I ask what you teach?

1 Like

Just make sure the class adheres to the appropriate outcomes required by the college, and you should be fine.
Let us know how it goes.

That definitely sounds like fun. I would see Empathy or Grace being the most popular paths, or at least the paths most of your students will get on their first try. I’d be super impressed if any of them unlocked Lunatic or Hero achievement during that.