Questions about getting cover art for your hosted game

Hi everyone!

I was wondering if anyone has had the experience of getting cover art done for their hosted game before, and if so, what was the process like? I’m completely new to this so everything and anything would be really helpful!

In particular, I have a few questions:

1. How do you select who to work with you?
  2. What would you expect to pay for a single e-book cover, as well as an app logo (I assume you need both). Will you be charged per revision, or per project.
  3. How long would you expect the process to take?
  4. How much detail should you provide in your project brief, should it be detailed, or should you give the artist freedom?
  5. Are freelance websites like fiverr reliable? And if so, does anyone have good artist recommendations? (Its a bit overwhelming right now haha)

I’ve noticed that there’s a professional services category, but before I delve into that I would really want to seek the expert advice of authors who have already been through the process.

Thank you so much!!!

5 Likes

I’ve done it twice now…keep in mind that your mileage will vary…

1. Both times, I have found readers who are talented artists.

2. That is going to really vary based on quality, medium, number of characters, complexity of the image, and how much ‘back and forth’ you have going on. I’m not an expect, but I think a quality cover image might cost in the range of $100-$300 USD, but obviously it all depends on the previously listed factors. (Keep in mind that the artist will need to give up all rights to the image, so that is a factor as well).

3. Depends on the artist’s schedule and yours, I guess it could take weeks or maybe just a few days?