Intimidated by Game Length

Hello there, I’ve been working on a few ideas, overviews, flow charts, etc. For a couple games I’d like to make but my biggest problem is the length of games. I would really like to make a game around the 50k mark that is fairly linear but I am worried that it will be lambasted for being too short. I’m pretty new to this so I was wondering what people thought. The longest I think I could go would be 100k and as far as I can tell most of the popular games are well over 100k. Am I doomed? Do I need to completely rethink this project?

7 Likes

Nothing wrong with a 50k game. The requirement for Hosted Games is only 30k including code, so if you really want to start with a 50k game then there’s no reason not to.

I personally don’t enjoy super-short games, but they have their place. :relaxed:

16 Likes

Out of curiosity. Since short games aren’t your thing, is there something that would draw you to one?

1 Like

Knowing the community I’d say it’d be less the length that might be an issue, but the linearity.

17 Likes

There was a discussion on this awhile back:

To summarize rougly what I said there, I’m explicitly not a fan of short games (<100k) because it’s a sign the game is very linear and lacking in the moments I look for.

I would suggest, however, writing the game at the length you think works, and getting feedback on it before you panic and scrap it, or talk yourself out of it (or pad it). I use length as a quick signifier of quality (in combination with other things), not length for the sake of being long. Maybe you’ll find some places to branch without any fuss. Maybe the game will work fine at its current length.

9 Likes

I will betalking to you from the heart as I have similar situations. Forget in fix the number of words before writing a real exhaust outline and a draff. Until that you are blind. I was supposed to do a 100,000 k project. with 12 or 13 chapters.
.I am in 90,000 IN CHAPTER 3… yeah.