Growing Game Lengths

We have been talking about the length our our games recently. The long and short is our games have been progressively been getting longer, and the “acceptable” length (for reviews) has gotten pushed up more and more over the years. While previously a game of about 150,000 was significantly on the longer side, it has now become “short” in reviews. We’re wondering what you all think of this.

• I’d prefer one 300k word game.
  • I’d prefer two 150k word games.

0 voters

(There’s a poll, but I’d really be curious as to what people think of this in actual practice as both authors and readers.)

9 Likes

Uh, how about three 800k word games. Is that an option? (Pulls at sweaty collar.)

More seriously, I’m thinking about the request for feedback “in actual practice as both authors and readers.”

As an author I want, ideally, two 150k games, because then I get two bites at the apple. But as a reader I want 300k because there is the (possibly illusory but unshakable) sense that length translates into better quality all things being equal. These two things are deeply in conflict.

The people who write the checks, of course, have their own perspective. I assume that up to a certain point they would prefer a single longer game. Obviously you get diminishing returns as a game gets past a certain word count, but I’m pretending to be ignorant of that.

37 Likes

As an author, I try to aim for the 250k ish mark nowadays. It seems to be the sweet spot as far as length vs pricing and fan expectations go.

10 Likes

sweat forms at eyebrows I’d like to know this as well… Haha.

2 Likes