Including quotes in a game?

In the WIP I have there is a particular scene involving a real world scientific endeavor.

Apologies that this is vaguely written.

Spoilers!!! SKIP AHEAD!
The game includes the finding of the Voyager probe which contains the Golden Record. This is the first attempt by humanity to contact extraterrestrial life. I am wondering if providing a brief section of the transcript on the disc would be acceptable.
Spoilers over.

3 Likes

Considering most of the spoken words are greetings from public figures like then-U.N. Secretary-General Kurt Waldheim and Jimmy Carter (and they were cool with their words being broadcast literally across the galaxy), I think you’re safe. Unless you’re including a full recording of Johnny B. Goode with the game, I can’t imagine anyone slapping a C&D on it.

3 Likes

Choice of Robots quotes from several things and came out about 7 years ago, and nobody’s come after me yet.

3 Likes

@RascaldeesV2 Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, and I don’t know much about the Golden Record, but looking it up briefly, here’s some points to consider. This is also for US cases only, I’m not familiar with how things work internationally.

• In general, quotes are okay to be used in media like novels and games if the quotes aren’t copyrighted or trademarked. Anything before 1923-1925 in our case (or something like that) in the US is okay. Ghandi’s “Be the change you want to see in the world” - fine. Aristotle or Socrates or whomever - fine. “I’ll be back” (Terminator), I believe, has been trademarked, so you can’t sell merchandise with that quote on it… I’m pretty sure that also would apply to games? But I don’t know if the GR has any quotes on it, so I don’t know how much this applies to you.