How to make different arcs in one story

Hello folks,

I have several questions- but most of them boil down to the scenes. Is there a way to organize scenes where you could make them go through a set number, but then not roll over to the next set? For example, say this is your *scene_list:

[quote]*startup
*choose_your_occupation
*principal_morning
*principal_lunch
*principal_afternoon

*teacher_morning
*teacher_lunch
*teacher_afternoon

*student_morning
*student_lunch
*student_afternoon
[/quote]

Can you make different arcs that don’t roll over on each other as soon as the last scene in the set is over? Even better- is there a better(easier) way to make this sort of thing work?

You can use *goto_scene in order to navigate between scenes instead of *finish. If you do that you don’t even need a scene list, you can just tell it precisely which scene to go to and in what order.

2 Likes

But if I were to use *goto_scene, wouldn’t I need a scene list? Sorry, I’m new to coding, and many things about it puzzle me.

When you use the finish command it tells the game to go to the next scene on the scene list.

However, you don’t have to use finish.

In your example you could do

*goto_scene teacher_morning

and then in teacher morning you could have a

*goto_scene teacher_afternoon

And that’s the order it’ll travel to scenes in. Just as long as you don’t use the *finish command.

@Reaperoa’s guide has some explanations in the basic commands section.

Yes you will need you list of ALL scenes in your startup file then later anywhere in a file you can write
*goto_scene such_and_such

you can also go to a certain label in a scene as well from another scene. for example let’s say i have a few scenes like his

*scene_list 
  dogs
  cats 
  pigs

and let’s say im in scene dogs but want to go to scene pigs you just simply write:
*goto scene_pigs
now if you want to go there and to a certain label in the pig scene you can write
*goto_scene pigs mud_time

and it will take you to the