How to code Such a scene

So I’m a beginner when its come to coding I recently learned basics thanks to (Wiki and many many other tutorials, So the hard work, is very much appreciated)and decided to code the story I’ve been working on.

However, I’m having trouble with some coding that I didn’t understand even with tutorials, I really tried though.

The thing is, for example, let’s say I put choices (1),(2) and (3) in scene1 for the next scene [let’s call it scene2] I want to have different reactions to each choice at the beginning of scene2, however, the rest of scene2 is the same for all choices. I want to know how to code that.

Maybe something like that?

text

*choice
  #choice 1
    *set first_choice 1
    text
    *goto scene2
  #choice 2
    *set first_choice 2
    text
    *goto scene2
  #choice 3
    *set first_choice 3
    text
    *goto scene2

*label scene2
*if first_choice = 1
  something happens.
  *goto continue_to_the_next_scene
*elseif first_choice = 2
  something else happens.
*else
  another thing happens

*label continue_to_the_next_scene
here all the three come together.
2 Likes

Doesn’t this put “the reaction to the choice text” and the rest of the scene in two different pages?. I want them on one page

Oh no!I mean yes.Its worked just fine.Thank you💜

The program reads and display all the text jumping through *goto until it encounters a *page_break, *choice, *ending, *finish, *input_text command, and I think I’m not forgetting any of them :thinking:.

You can easily test that with any of the programs available.

I didn’t know that then, let’s say this time the beginning of the page is a reaction to the choice, the middle is the same for all choices for all choice and at the end of the page is also a reaction to the choices. Which means the beginning and the end change only the middle text is stable, can that be coded?