How do you get choices to work?

I’m new to coding and using Choicescript. I’ve been stuck trying to get choices to go where I need them to go for a while now. I can only get the first one out of three to work. The other two aren’t showing up when I test it. How do you get two of the choices to lead to death, while the other to the next chapter? There aren’t any impacts to stats or variables with this one. (I see lots of Tylenol in my future trying to implement variables, commands, stats, etc. into the story.)
Here’s an example of how it looks:

*choice
  #Decision
      Text
*goto_scene death
*choice
  #Decision
      Text
*goto_death scene
*choice
  #Decision
      Text
*goto_ scene chapter2

I have chapter2 in the scenes folder and on the startup list.

You should check out the intro to choicescript stuff here

Since you haven’t posted it in code, I don’t know what your indentations look like. You could have problems there. You also have a command that doesn’t exist (*goto_death scene --> it should be *goto_scene death). The biggest thing though, is that a choice should look like this:

*choice
  #a 
    Text 
    *goto next
  #b 
    Text
    *goto_scene death
  #c 
    text
    *finish

You don’t use the *choice command everytime you have a new option, that’s what the #'s are for

You should also check out the wiki

Edit: since you have edited your original post, I have more to say

The commands associated with your options must be in the body of the option, which you can see in my example above. You also don’t need a *goto_scene chapter2 if in your startup chapter two comes directly after this, you need to use the *finish command

2 Likes

Check out the links listed above. Also look at the example code for dragon to see how it can be used.
https://www.choiceofgames.com/dragon/scenes/startup.txt