How did you come to be a choice games writer?

Hi Choice game writers (and readers), I’m relatively new to the choice games forum (Like, really new) but not to the books themselves I’ve been reading them for the last year or so and it have read as many as I can and enjoyed so many of them, but each time I read one it makes my heart ache and want to write my own.

I joined the forum as the first step to looking into how I could go about starting out, but what I really wanted to know is how did you guys start out, were you established writers that decided to write in this style or like me did you read these and then decide you like to try your hand at this?

Thanks all

7 Likes

Hi, @Emery_Valentine! I know what you mean about the heart ache, because when I was a teenager, I felt that way when I read a good fantasy novel. I wanted to do that, and I felt like I could, but I didn’t quite see how it could happen. I wrote a lot of stories and novels in middle school and high school that now live in my basement that nobody will ever see.

In college and graduate school, I wrote live role-playing games for local conventions, which got me used to writing hundreds of thousands of words to tight deadlines, and I got a lot of feedback on my writing there.

And as a professor, I was publishing scholarly essays, so I got used to the process of professional writing, publishing, and research.

So I was “established” in the sense that I had found those two niches and was getting good responses to my writing, but I hadn’t earned one penny from either.

Then I played a Choice Of game that looked good to me on Steam, and i thought it was fun. I played it a few times, and then I realized I could do that, but better. I submitted a query in 2015, and here in January 2018 I have two published Choice Of games, and am pondering my third.