Gender/Sexuality Randomization

Hey, I’m a bit new to coding games so please correct any mistakes I’m sure I’m making haha. (And please lmk if I’ve formatted this post wrong!)

I’ve put a bit into the startup text here after the player selects their gender and the gender(s) they want to be able to romance.

*fake_choice
	#Men.
		*if gender="male"
			*set orientation "gay"
		*if gender="female"
			*set orientation "straight"

#Women.
		*if gender="female"
			*set orientation "lesbian"
		*if gender="male"
			*set orientation "straight"

#Men and Women
		*set orientation "bisexual"

#I'm not interested in romance.
		*set orientation "asexual"

And then we have this…

*if (gender="male") and (orientation="gay")
	*gosub lover_male

*if (gender="female") and (orientation="straight")
	*gosub lover_male

*if (gender="male") and (orientation="straight")
	*gosub lover_female

*if (gender="female") and (orientation="lesbian")
	*gosub lover_female 

*if (orientation="bisexual") or (orientation="asexual")
	*gosub gender_random

I’m essentially trying to have straight male/lesbian MCs get the option to have all ROs be female (and I’ve followed with a code under *label lover_female that sets the names and etc of ROs to female, and the same for men with gay male/straight female MCs). And then a bi or ace MC will have the RO genders randomized. I’ve coded in dice for that option, but the issue is that single-gender-attracted MCs are getting randomized RO genders as well. Like a straight male MC should be getting the ROs all female, but they’re about half male and half female. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong here, so help is much appreciated.

Could you post the code in the lover_female, lover_male and gender_random subroutines? I wonder if there’s something there that isn’t setting the way you’re after.

1 Like
*label lover_male
*set hazel "Hugo"
*set h_him "him"
*set h_his "his"
*set h_he "he"
*set h_man "man"
*set freya "Freddie"
*set f_him "him"
*set f_his "his"
*set f_he "he"