Error: Invalid expression, couldn't extract another token

Hi everyone! This is my first time using choice script, since I’m switching my game from Twine, using sugarcube 2.0.

I’ve been debugging and editing my code, and usually I’ve been able to figure out what has gone wrong. However, I am stuck at this spot.

I’ve received the error expression: Invalid expression, couldn’t extract another token

The popup flags different parts of this section of code depending on which choice I make.

*choice
*if ((gender = “female”) and (c_or_t = “c”)) #A simple yellow and brown outfit that I typically wear while working. It will not draw much attention to me, but mother says it always highlighted the beauty in my face. I do, however, wear a nice pair of dark silk gloves, and keep my hair up with an oriental pin.
*set personality “plain”
*set not 1
*set marcusrelation 10
*elseif ((gender = “female”) and (c_or_t = “c”)) #A gorgeous pink ballgown that showed off my shoulders and cleavage well. The petticoats were a darker shade of peach, and the entire thing was embroidered with flowers, even the bustle is held up with them! I know all eyes are going to be on me when I step into the party!
*set personality “lavish”
*set not 3
*set marcusrelation 30
*if ((gender = “male”) and (c_or_t = “c”)) #I wear my normal, everyday clothes, like I would for work. A clean, pressed yellow blouse, a mousey brown three piece suit, a red tie, and the heavy overcoat my brother passed down to me. I freshen things up with a dab of my mother’s perfume, knowing the women of the party will love the scent.
*set personality “plain”
*set not 1
*set mariarelation 10
*if ((gender = “male”) and (c_or_t = “c”)) #Nothing but my nicest suit will do for this evening! Typically, black is worn for such an event, but I feel festive in this spring weather, so I replace my white blouse for a pink one, and slip on a grey suit to match. Not a single hair on my head is out of place, and a fresh rose is pinned to my lapel.