Bringing choices into the next scene

Hi everyone, I’m not that good with coding and I have started to mess with the coding. The choice script is probably a lot easier for me to understand right now then the c++ coding. My question is that I had my startup file have the player choose male/female and their name. How do I carry these variables over into the next scene? I tried using an if/else statement but it seems that it does not carry over.

Thank you guys in advance.

As long as you’re using create and not temp they should work globally. Are you remembering to set them? What’s your code look like? Could you paste it in?

Here is the startup file

*scene_list
  startup
  First_Chapter
  variables
  gosub
  ending
  death

*comment Default stats here

*create Leadership 20
*create Strength 30
*create Agility 20
*create Cunning 20
*create Honor 50
*create Piety 20
*create Intellegence 30
*create Valour 30
*create Nobility 20
*create name ""
*create gender "unknown"

*label gender

Before we set off on our journey into the warring states period. 
We must start off with what type of person you will be.

Will you be a male or female?

*choice
  #Male.
   *set gender "male"
   *goto nameing_prince
  #Female.
   *set gender "female"
   *goto nameing_princess

*label nameing_prince

What will your name be my lord?
*choice
  #Male name1 
   *finish
  #Male name2
   *finish
  #Please enter your name.
   *input_text name

Your name is ${name}, is that right?
   *finish

*label nameing_princess
What will your name be my lady?
*choice 
  #Female name1
   *finish
  #Female name2
   *finish
  #Please enter your name.
   *input_text name

Your name is ${name}, is that right?
   *finish

For the next file its suppose to go something like this.

What will you do?

*choice
  #Continue to the courtyard to start your training. 
    *if "male"
    You thank the servant and continue on to your training. As you enter the stone courtyard,