A Text RPG Where You Can Create Your Own Medieval Fantasy Novel

Greets. I’m an old school DM. I code to help my sons on the Autism Spectrum: I write code for medieval fantasy as a hobby (been a D&D DM for years), but I’m also a writer and merged the two (like a MUD or Text based RPG collaborating medieval fantasy interactive character building while writing asynchronously with other writers, is it possible? Can you alter a medieval fantasy story made for everyone? Do it on your laptop or mobile anytime without having to install an app for free? Yes, you can do all: https://www.RulerOfKings.com There are lots of videos there that explain everything. Looking for writers to come on board and help build the world!

4 Likes

Why not use ChoiceScript and make a story here?

I may do that when I get a chance, however ROK II is not just about making choices, it actually allows you to build a character using real stats, learn skills and use magic just like a table top game. So when you encounter a choice you actually use a skill you have. For instance, instead of just jumping across a pit a check can be made to see if you have the Jump skill, the level of difficulty and if you made it as opposed to just saying you choose to jump or not.

Yep, you can design games the same way here, too.

3 Likes

Oh, I would very impressed if a game engine could design more or the same as I am able to custom code for my uses. I previously bought a game engine that promised lots of customization and was sorely disappointed. I will very much like to see an example of what you are talking about. Which game created has this so I can look?

In ROK II I was able to add relationships, multi-player functionality, build armies, explore a map, have detailed combat and so forth all like a regular table top game. I will also be working on creating your own party.