A Bard's Tale [WIP]

This is a thread to announce my demo for my new game, A Bard’s Tale. In it, you play a young bard embarking on a journey to rouse the sleeping gods.

Currently it’s about 50k words (including code) - I don’t have a hard update schedule, and plan to release more in chunks as sections are completed. But the current demo is pretty lengthy (:

I am new to the CoG forums, and I’ve been doing a lot of my publicity on Tumblr, but I figured I should make a thread here with the demo :sweat_smile: Follow the Tumblr blog for more info and for more candid dev updates!

To play the demo, go here: https://dashingdon.com/go/5973

A Bard’s Tale is a fantasy adventure interactive novel with a prominent romance component.

It takes place on the fictional continent of Amaran, a high fantasy setting based on Asian and Pacific Islander cultures as opposed to traditional Eurocentric high fantasy.

In the wake of a terrible war, you are a young bard just starting your journey. Will you answer the call to adventure and embark to rouse the sleeping gods?

FEATURES:

• Six different playable fantasy races, with a total of seventeen unique character origins.
  • Options to be male, female, or nonbinary, and the option to choose pronouns separate from gender identity.
  • Two Romance Options that are romanceable by any gender of player characters.
  • Single-player RPG elements - stat building phases and stat check phases/puzzle and combat elements.
    *Opt-in 18+ sexual content. Players must agree to see such content in each instance, and opting out does not affect the story or gameplay.
322 Likes

I can’t wait to try this; it looks amazing. could we get some more info about the RO’s?

6 Likes

Of course! Sorry, I guess that was a blind spot on my part because they’ve been such a hot topic on the Tumblr blog.