Writing as a career or hobby: what's your experience?

I didn’t find any threads like this, and I thought it’d be helpful to have a place to discuss the business side of writing. I’m curious what everyone’s experience is in this regard, perhaps we can learn from one another to make this life more viable. As much as it may pain our artistic souls, the reality is we all have to pay the bills somehow. There’s always a balance between doing what you love and what you need.

First off, I’m curious what everyone’s status is:

• Full-time professional writer
  • Part-time professional writer
  • Aspiring professional
  • Hobby writer
  • Other?
0 voters

If you do write for money, what do you do?

• Primarily IF
  • Primarily other fiction (e.g., novels, short stories)
  • Primarily nonfiction
  • Other?
0 voters

I’m a freelance writer myself. Everything I have been hired to do thus far is non-fiction, and often not super inspiring. I’ve been trying to find ways to weedle into the fiction business without totally freaking out my family lol. It’s not like we have the kind of money for me to just take off a year of work to finish a novel, and it’s hard to find time for fun writing with how much other work there is to do.

Curious how everyone else is doing in this regard. Is anyone paying the bills just with IF? A mix of styles? If so, how did you get there?

8 Likes

I freelance, though I’ve not done any recently for various of reasons, one of which being working on a personal project. When I freelance, I do tabletop game design. I have zero expectation and desire to make a living off my writing.

(Also, my 9-to-5 involves a lot of report writing, but that’s only a portion of what I do.)