What are your writing strengths?

Since there’s a thread about where you feel you could improve as a writer, I thought it would be fun to think about the other side of the coin. What areas are you proud of as a writer/developer, what do you feel are your strengths? What do people consistently say is good about your work?

This may be a hard question to answer - there can be internal pressure to be modest, especially if you’re unsure about your skills - but here is a thread where you can toot your own horn! Feel free to say what other commenters’ writing strengths are, too.

To kick off: one of my strong areas is character voice. One of the beta testers for Blood Money said that they knew who every character was just from their dialogue, and that was incredibly nice to hear! I also feel that my location descriptions give a good sense of place and atmosphere. I like trying to include details to flesh out locations without having to write something really long.

OK, over to you!

17 Likes

You’re right, this is somewhat hard to answer. I am ambivalent about my other aspects of writing, but I do quite like the style of fighting scenes I write, and do enjoy similar action scenes in others’ works as well.

8 Likes

Wow, a place for me to shamelessly stroke my narcissism. :open_mouth:

Based off of some of the comments I’ve got on The Magician’s Burden, Winter of the Bovine, The Enchanter’s Misery, and Mass Mother Murderer, I’d say maybe my biggest strength is getting people to feel strong emotions for the characters or situations, whether it be anger, pity, happiness, sadness, or disgust.

9 Likes

Good thread, @HarrisPS! Self-assessment is definitely tough, but as we make progress with our skills, I think it’s healthy to acknowledge some things we do well. We’re often way too hard on ourselves!