Simulating Objects

Hi people,

I’m still a bit new to this so apologies for dumb questions. ChoiceScript does not, as far as I can tell, support objects.

I found Objects in ChoiceScript but it looks like some form of extension with commands like *define_object_type and *create_object, which I can’t find in the official documentation. The internal link to this code gives a 404 so I can’t follow it further.

Anyway, what I came up with is the following and I’d appreciate any feedback on whether this is a good idea or not.

Sample problem: D&D-type monsters with consistent attributes. The monster might be one of many, so the monster ‘object’ must be generic to avoid code repetition.

What I came up with is:

*create monster
*create wyvern_name “Wally”
*create wyvern_strength 50
*create dragon_name “Dave”
*create dragon_strength 100

*set monster “wyvern”

The rest of my code can now be generic where:

Name of the current monster is: ${{"${monster}" & “_name”}}
Strength of the current monster is: ${{"${monster}" & “_strength”}}

It’s a little clumsy-looking.

Can anyone suggest a better way of doing this?

Thanks,
Stephen

1 Like

You have a good use case there. Unfortunately, I don’t think there’s a straightforward way of doing objects. Your way is as good as any. I would add an index so that I could keep multiple copies of a type of object.

*create class_index_prop "" 

*comment example:
*create dragon_1_name "Wally"
*create dragon_1_healthpoint 500
*create dragon_1_hitpoint 15
*create dragon_1_droploot_name "Ring of Enduring"
*create dragon_1_droploot_buffer "health" 
*create dragon_1_droploot_effect "+5"

*create dragon_2_name "Judas" 
*create dragon_2_healthpoint 250
*create dragon_2_hitpoint 25

If you want to simulate class behaviour, create separete scenes with class methods. Such as a dragon.txt and passing the index as reference. I wouldn’t take it too far though. Try replacing OOP for FP whenever possible.

1 Like