Setting the player's gender in unique and clever ways

I haven’t seen a thread relating to this so…
Feel free to share your ideas on unique and clever ways to ask players’ genders.

As a writer I HAVE TO avoid direct characterization as much as possible. I can’t just say “Hey, what’s yo gender kid?” In Choicescript games, I’ve seen very clever ways to ask this question, but I can’t think of clever ways to do it myself.
I’m also afraid of confusing the player. For example, my favorite is from Choice of Romance (I think. or maybe it’s one of the vampire games…). In that game, the player is asked whether they want to bow or curtsy in greeting. It’s clever but it might be confusing.

Here’s what I’ve come up with for one of the games. [Please don’t take my cervitaur idea. P.S. It’s about cervitaurs]

Do you think this is straightforward enough or will or confuse players? Also, should I rewrite the third choice?
(oh an P.S. I’m not against non-binary peeps, but my fam [aka parents] are conservative and they’ll see my game. [I’ll add more options when I’m about ready to publish])

9 Likes

No confusion here, it’s quite clear (as was that choice in CoR), though I personally wouldn’t have used “dum dum” in the 3rd option. There are more sophisticated ways to point that out without insulting the players’ intelligence)))

2 Likes

I think it’s the player choosing that option and calling the narrator a “dum dum”

@Twiger_Fluff I think the way you have it is fine. It is creative and I can tell that you are asking whether you are a boy or a girl.

6 Likes

[quote=“EmperorHeartless, post:3, topic:28600”]
I think it’s the player choosing that option and calling the narrator a “dum dum”[/quote]
A poor choice of words on my part, sorry. I was talking about how having this particular expression in a sentence makes the one using it sound.

1 Like