SALVAGE TEAM (wip) 3/2018

I’ve begun work on my first new game SALVAGE TEAM. I’m a newbie working alone, so if it doesn’t suck, I’ll be thrilled.

In it, you play yourself, randomly selected online by an international mining corporation for a high paying job that promises adventure on a salvage team full of misfits in a once profitable gold mine, plagued by mysterious events that you must detect and resolve before you join the scores of dead miners waiting below.

Currently it’s about (92%, 9 Chapters, 45,000 Words) done, and I plan on updating every few days. I’m in Act 3 of 3 - the home stretch of my first draft.

To play the partial demo, go here: http://www.jamesarnett.com/salvageteam

It’s a gender customizable, scary, funny and death-defying adventure that leverages a bit of psychology as well as compounding the jeopardy with every choice.

24 Likes

I enjoyed it, but the scenes are way too short. By that I mean you should use page breaks less often. Having to click next page every two sentences or so gets annoying pretty fast.

4 Likes

Are the deaths of Morty, Kazuki, Walter, Barber, & Martinez all scripted?

1 Like

I would agree with readher. Lumping about two sentences on each “page” is aggravating. The breaks between pages should help pace the story, not impede it. I feel like I’m reading a series of texts from different people rather than an actual story.

2 Likes

The story needs to flow more than be still, I agree with the others on the page breaks.

1 Like

Thank you for helping me get through my first story! I’m very glad that you enjoyed what was there to read :slight_smile:

How many lines do you think I should be averaging per page so I don’t lose anyone?

How long do you feel a page should go on for, on a phone screen, without crossing a line where I might risk losing readers? I need to get this right.