Representing Trans Characters in a Modern Setting

So, this is both going to contain some more general questions and some relating specifically to the game I’m working on.

Anyhow… I’m a cis writer and I’m working on a game where there are trans NPCs and the option to play as a trans character in a story that takes place in a ‘pretty much modern day, but with magic hidden in the background’ setting. And, I’d really like to know how trans readers would like to see trans issues handled. (I know there’ll probably be a variety of different and potentially conflicting view points, but I’d like to hear them so I can keep them in mind.)

Any and all opinions are deeply appreciated. Also, feel free to be blunt/critical.

The general, not specific to the game questions are this:

• If you play as a trans MC, what experiences would you want the option to have talked about in game?
  • What things would you rather a cis writer leave untouched/unexplored/left to your imagination?
  • How often do you want NPCs/other characters to respond to the MC being trans?
  • Would you rather have NPC characters be generally accepting or have some minor NPCs be jerks about trans issues?
  • Would you like to be able to discuss being trans with your love interest? Your family members?
  • Would you like trans NPCs to have options to talk about their experiences with being trans?
  • Is there anything else you’d like me to keep in mind?

So, my more specific questions actually relate to the specific NPCs I have in mind. There are (minor) spoilers here.

I’ll start with describing the NPCs in question.

James: He’s the MC’s oldest brother and a trans man who’s come out a good number of years before the story. Currently, he works as a nurse and does his best to help support the family. He’s not the most chatty sort, unless you get him started on the supernatural or on science, then he morphs into an enthusiastic nerd. He can be a bit impulsive and hot headed, but is generally well meaning.