Questions from a coding noob

Hey everyone, I am new to coding and programming and considering this I thought it would be better to make a whole topic about the various questions I will undoubtedly have often.

My first question is I have a choice and I want to affect a stat based on the choice someone makes but it’s not quite working out. Code is pasted below vvvvv

*fake_choice
    #"Look, I don't have all day unlike a certain girl who won't move on." You say in obvious  annoyance.

${sreputation}
        *set sreputation %-5
*page_break
    #"I'm not trying to rush you but you don't absolutely have to decide now. I can come back later?" You gently tell her as the time ticks by.
        ${sreputation}
        *set sreputation %+5
*page_break
    #Your not really in any rush to get to a place as miserable as your high school. You settle yourself for lateness and continue to guide the girl to her afterlife.
        ${sreputation}
        *set sreputation %+10
*page_break

When I click a choice in testing the next page only shows “10” where script is but the stats don’t change. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Right now, you’re displaying your current stat value BEFORE you change it. Try having the stat display ${sreputation} and the stat setting *set sreputation %+5 switch lines.

*fake_choice
    #“Look, I don’t have all day unlike a certain girl who won’t move on.” You say in obvious annoyance.
        *set sreputation %-5
        ${sreputation}
        *page_break
    #“I’m not trying to rush you but you don’t absolutely have to decide now. I can come back later?” You gently tell her as the time ticks by.
        *set sreputation %+5
        ${sreputation}
        *page_break
    #Your not really in any rush to get to a place as miserable as your high school. You settle yourself for lateness and continue to guide the girl to her afterlife.
        *set sreputation %+10
        ${sreputation}
        *page_break
1 Like