Outlining Interactive Fiction ( blind user)

Hey everyone!

I’m a totally-blind author, and I’m curious how everyone outlines their interactive games. I’ve been using Word documents to try and keep track of the emerging narrative threads, and it’s just not getting the job done. It becomes very messy when trying to reconnect various threads after they’ve separated temporarily, and I’d imagine that there has to be a better, accessible way to do this. Does anyone have any suggestions or input?

Also, do any blind authors have advice for how they keep track of spacing/indentation when integrating code into your game? I’m using JAWS, and it’s hard to catch errors in syntax related to spacing, as JAWS doesn’t announce spacing unless I inspect code character-by-character, which is too time-consuming to be realistic.

5 Likes

One method I’ve taken to using recently is creating a bullet point outline for each subplot including chapter number.

For example
Boss Rush Arc
Chapter 2 Investigation
Chapter 3 player chooses to cross the point of no return
Chapter 4 Retaliation. Antagonist strikes back
Chapter 5 water buffalo loving grandma offers player shelter
Chapter 6 Onward player chooses between hyperviolence investigation or seduction
Chapter 8 More stuff

When I am writing the chapter files each subplot has a gosub in each chapter with an *if statement conducting the player to the relevant subplots when appropriate

3 Likes

If you’re not using your device default program, you should be able to use Search and Replace function. Use an alternative character to replace your indentation character (tilde “~” or something) then replace it with tab. Note that this only works if you use tab instead of space as indentation.

Probably not the most convenient way to do it, but that’s what I can think of. Not a blind user myself, so unsure if this would be effective at all :sweat_smile:

2 Likes