Non-native English speaker. How much of a problem can it be?

Hey there.
In my country I’m a published author, but all my works have always been in my native language. However, since I’m a university student of English language and literature, my English should be pretty advanced. I’d love to write a book in AmE English, but obviously I can’t use all the nuances, language puns and informal idioms that are normally used in spoken English.
Would it possibly be a problem for you to read and enjoy content written in “academic” English?

I would like to add that the story is set in the contemporary era/near future, and that no location is specified other than a generic “United States”.

17 Likes

I think you should be good, you will need some good beta testers, as sometimes some words or sentences from our native language does not translate the same in English.

I had testers telling me that this sentence doesn’t make sense, when it would in my native language. I’m a French speaker.

So go for it, and just have some testers on hand :slight_smile:

19 Likes

Hi Daleko –

Many of our community members and authors (of both HG and CoG titles) are non-native English speakers, so I would urge you to develop your game.

Your writing experience will be a huge benefit for you, although you should still get many different readers to test your game and provide feedback, so that you can then make any adjustments needed.

There are also many different grammar and spelling apps and sites available to help you as well, so I’d recommend looking at those too.

23 Likes