Non-Gender Specific MC's and Romance Options

So I’ve actually searched the forums for this and didn’t really find any topic that already existed that answered my question.

With games that allow you to play as a non-gender specific MC, exactly how do the romances work? I like making my romances either straight/bi-sexual/lesbian/gay instead of having them open to any relationship . . . it just feels more realistic to me is all. But I ended up thinking, how would a NPC view a non-gender specific MC . . . if this is making sense.

This is in no way me trying to be rude or ignorant, I am just truly curious how other authors handle this or how readers would like it to be handled, especially those who are non-gender conforming.

6 Likes

Since I’m rather new to coding I decided to not go through the hassle of defining my characters for three instead of two gender options. I definitely want to include a third option for genderfluid/agender readers in a project one day, but currently it’s difficult enough for me to tackle male and female options with all of the sexualities and romance options that come with it. If I can get the hang of things I totally will add that third option. Those readers would get two romance options: the female asexual panromantic in my story as well as the agender character with a clear preference for other agender/genderfluid people. (Other characters include: A gay, straight and bi man and a bi woman. Everyone gets at least 2 options this way.)

To still represent people that define themselves like this I did decide to create a character who uses ‘they’ and does not define their gender as male or female. Since my story has superhero elements said character is a firefighter and burn victim who uses their power to copy the appearance of every person on earth to get through their day. They have a pretty integral part to play in the story as a whole. =)

2 Likes

Are you looking for technical help?(coding etc…)
Social advice?