How to use *if and boolean for scenarios?

Perhaps the question was not aptly phrased, but I’ll do my best to explain it here. I’m rather new to Choicescript, having just started yesterday.

What I want to know is, how should I structure the *if command for whole scenes instead of choices? And not based on stats, either. Like, for example:

Let’s say the main character talks to Daria. If character has complimented Daria, then (for example):
*set daria_compliment true

Of course, we would have to set up [*create daria_compliment true] in the startup

Fast forward several scenes later:

*if daria_compliment true
Daria gives you a kiss! “I love you,” she declared. The two of you live happily ever after.
*finish
*else
Daria just smiles at you. You stay good friends.
*finish

If it helps, I’ve mostly been going through the ChoiceScript introduction guide. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

I almost forgot. I’ve tried structuring it the way I mentioned above ^ but keep receiving error messages.

It’s

*if daria_compliment = true

or

*if daria_compliment

or (if and this is only really something coders will probably use naturally)

*if not(daria_compliment)
1 Like

Thank you! I will try it out straightaway

Actually this is something that’s always confused me as well. Does there have to be a choice statement in there? Or can you just have something like

Story paragraph ends here

*if ( element = "water" )
Storyline for water

*if (element = "fire" )
Storyline for fire

And just have the story continue without having to make a choice? (I’ve been trying to engineer choices to split the storylines which isn’t always easy)

Yeah, I’m still trying to figure it out. I ran into another error again that says I’m missing a VAR or something like that… I’ll post the whole message once I get to a computer. I’m using my phone right now

@Jacic can you tell me how you’ve been doing it so far? And has it worked, despite being difficult?