How to create a power list?

I’m completely new to choicescript … and programming in general … and I may have hit the ground running a little too hard :sweat_smile: trying to make my first game. But I’m determined to complete it and therefore I need to figure out something that seems rather complicated and full of moving parts. I want to make a power list, like what you might see on say Hero or Villain: Genesis, with points to distribute on a number of pre-decided choices, based on a choice that defined the group of powers you could choose from. In essence, what kinda format would that take? Commands, organization, etc. Any suggestions?

Anyone? Please? I can’t seem to make it work :weary: I can’t seem to find a guide or helpful post in this area, and my custom solutions have only worked halfway or not at all. Here’s an example of what I’m trying to do. I’m making a game where you’re a mage, and you get to choose from a class of magic at the start (fire, water, etc) and then you choose from a starting list of spells. Some of my list making has worked out, but I’m trying to make different levels of a chosen skill, and if you choose one you lose the option to pick the other. As with this down here, I have two tiers for healing magic. You choose one tier, you can’t stack it with the other. So I assigned a temp point value ‘Healingchoice’, and once you pick one the other becomes unavailable. HOWEVER I can’t seem to make it work with another variable for the cost of mana to buy the spell! I guess two selectable_if commands can’t occupy the same space? But when I tried to use the if statement with two variables, that produced the same failure! Anyone know what command or correction to make?

You have 500 mana points to spend.
*label Holy
Holy Spells
*choice
*hide_reuse *selectable_if (Healingchoice = 1) and *selectable_if (mana >= 75) #Basic Healing Magic [+5 Healing][25]
*set Healing + 5
*set mana - 25
*set Healingchoice - 1
*gosub Holy