Dialogue Heavy Narratives

Hello all, I’ve made my return to CoG and I’m glad to be back. Been doing some writing over the past few days and I’m hoping to keep it going until I actually get something done.

Anyway, I wanted to discuss something rather pertinent to my work; dialogue heavy narratives (as you may have guessed from the title). I’ve been writing for something like 10 years now, and across all of my works I’ve noticed that I have a tendency to write stories with lots of talking. Typically, scenes will contain a lot more text inside speech quotes than outside. I worry that this makes my work seem rather difficult to imagine, since all the reader sees are the words being spoken and some occasional descriptions of the characters doing the talking.

But often times I feel like if I tried to put in more descriptive text, it’d basically just be filler padding out the wordcount. I mean, how much does a person do (that is worth describing) while they are talking anyway?

I wonder if it’s simply the case that there is just a lot of talking going on. I don’t get the vibe from other works that I read that there is too much dialogue, but maybe I’m just treating my works differently because I wrote them.

With that said, I pose the following questions for you:

• Do you write dialogue heavy stories?
  • Is there anything wrong with dialogue-heavy writing?
  • What can I do to better balance dialogue with descriptive text, without making a scene unnecessarily longer?
  • Do you need a sample of my writing to get an idea of what I mean?

Looking forward to your responses! Thanks!

I write with high talking even with internal monologues .