Customising your character

Fairly new to interactive fiction here, so I would appreciate some help on how people like to customise characters. Some of it seems rather pointless to me and I don’t know whether this is because I’m new to it or whether I should just be reading a different genre.

An example:
You often get asked something like “what is your hair colour?”
My immediate reaction is, who the hell cares?

It’s different where the hair colour is clearly relevant to the story. e.g.

What is your hair colour?

• Blonde: you will find advantages in the way people treat you but will have to deal an increased level of sexual harassment.
  • Black: you are more likely to get a positive reaction from the Randomanian community but may become pigeon-holed by others
  • Red: you are eligible to join the red-headed league
    etc

Yet, most stories seem to have character customisations that have no apparent relevance.

Am I just not ‘getting it’?

Help appreciated.

5 Likes

Most of the time it’s to allow people to self insert into the MC or build their own character the way they want them to look and will be cosmetic variables only. If you are a player that doesn’t tend to self insert, those settings will seem less relevant, but a lot of players like to have them. If you really don’t want to have a long character creation section interrupt the game flow but still provide it as an option for readers, you can make an optional character creation point which you can go through or not if the settings are only cosmetic (there are games that have this although it’s not very common.)

Tread with large amounts of caution if you want to make cosmetic characteristics (like hair colour) give you advantages or disadvantages (such as the example of the blonde hair above) and be aware of stereotyping.