Code for gender and pronouns

hello, I am new to coding and choice script, but I would like to learn how to give my protagonist (the player) gender and give them pronouns in both coding and which scene I should place them under.

gender I will leave as male, female, and non binary. I do believe in other genders, but to write them out would be a bit taxing. if the code is simple enough, I may write a few more, but as for now, my main focus is how to “assign” gender and pronouns to the protagonist/player throughout the story.

thank you very much in advance.

1 Like

Looked up a couple of threads that might help. This one is newer and includes they/them pronouns:

This thread is older and has no option for they/them, but the dropbox link has a few useful pointers like setting up relationship variables:

2 Likes

this is awesome, thank you so much!! :pleading_face::two_hearts:

1 Like

Hey, I know of two different methods you can do this.

The first and most common way is to assign each pronoun and gender-specific word by making variables that can be chosen in a gender choice ingame. You do this by using *create in startup.txt to make the different pronouns, for example:

*create he_she ""
*create him_her ""

Then, later when you want the player to choose their gender, you can make a choice like this:

*choice
   #Male
      *set he_she "he"
      *set him_her "him"
   #Nonbinary
      *set he_she "they"
      *set him_her "them
   #Female
      *set he_she "she"
      *set him_her "her"

Then when you want to enter those pronouns you can use ${} to enter the variable’s text, like “${he_she} is going to bed.” You can add as many variables for as many gender-specific pronouns as you plan on using in your game.