Change of narrating style midway

I have been working this for some time but will like to know the opinions of others.

So what if i start the story from a third person’s view, introduce the characters (but keep the MC’s name out of it and simply refer to him as a boy.

But after a chapter or two there is a point where the narration starts from the First person “point of view”.where he takes over with present tense manner of speech and the story continues like that.

please let me know your thoughts. im new to such ideas and will appreciate the suggestions.

I’m not sure about it, changing narrative style mid-story isn’t rly my style.

But if there’re any logical explanations for it, plot wise, maybe I can tolerate it.

1 Like

Is there any particular reason why you need to start the story from the third-person point of view? In my opinion, a POV change like that could be jarring, especially if it never switches back to third-person again. Unless it’s justified why it needed to start out like that in the first place?

So… I am incredibly picky when it comes to PoV changes. And PoV in general.

PoV changes don’t usually work well. They can be used to great effect if you have a good reason to use them (So You’re Possessed has a fun transition from second to first person for a bit). So why are you using the change? Is it just so we don’t know the thoughts of the MC? Or so we know a little more about the plot than the MC does? (I’m just guessing here. You don’t give us much to work off of) Because the former isn’t a strong enough reason (start later in the narrative) and the latter throws off a first person game (since you’re effectively giving an omniscient person control of a character who shouldn’t know the full story).

If it’s something stronger… maybe. But you have to prove that this was the only way to get your point across, instead of just being used to fudge what the readers know.