At what point should I start asking for feedback from the community?

I’ve started a project of my own and it’s still in its very early stages; I’ve got the story more or less planned out, list of characters and such but in terms of writing/coding I’ve really only got about a chapters worth.

Since I’m new to writing in general I’m unsure what the general modus operandi is, and while there’s some helpful resources about choicescript and writing tips, I’m still unsure how to go about asking for feedback. Is it better to do so near the end when you got a lot to receive feedback on, and then focus on implementing and changing things accordingly, or is it better to do it from an early stage and develop it along with the community, as it were?

5 Likes

That mainly depends on which approach you prefer, but asking for feedback relatively early in the project can help with keeping the project going until it’s at the stage where it can be released.

If you’re going to ask for feedback on the forum try to have a working playtest/demo ready with at least a few pages of text and some choices so that people have something tangible to give feedback on.

Good luck.

3 Likes

There are a lot of early phase “ideas” on this forum, and to be honest they get a little annoying to me personally. “I have an idea X, what do you think I should do?” And then endless discussion from there, with no real progress for a couple of weeks, and they might abandon the thread to start a new one with the actual demo.

If that’s the kind of discussion you want, though, feel free, just consider labeling it as an idea, vs. an actual WIP w/ Demo. Also, please be very detailed, and not just a paragraph-length post for people to then ask you more and more details about.