Ambiguity and player interpretation

Today I was reading Mind the Gap by Ian Thomas, the author of Pendragon Rising, about leaving space for the audience imagination, and though a lot of it is about LARP design (as a former LARP writer, I agree with his points thoroughly in that context!) thought it would be an interesting discussion point here for IF. When you’re playing, how much do you like to be explained and how much veiled?

How much ambiguity do you enjoy in worldbuilding, do you prefer explanations or implications? Have there been games where you’ve enjoyed either approach? How about with plot - do you like it to be laid out or do you like the to be more room for interpretation?

It also occurred to me that a reason why I don’t really enjoy stating a PC’s hair colour, eye colour etc, is that I find it harder to visualise the whole person if there’s emphasis on the composite parts, so I prefer choices like deciding how scruffily you’re dressed or how formally you like to be addressed, that sort of thing. But I know that a lot of people find appearance customisation more important for visualising their characters - where do you stand on the spectrum?

19 Likes

To me it’s rather essential to good world building to provide enough info that the audience can fill in the gaps.
Likewise if something happens in the sorta real world, trust in your audience to get the implication and if not to not be left stranded.

Two examples.

From Spiderverse

Gwen is apparently the only one to arrive a week before the movie’s events. So it’s possible that main verse peter began investigatinf because of that, leading into a stable, fatal timeloop

From Good Omens: