50 k words gamebooks

Greetings, guys!

I really would love to hear your opinion one a subject. I know most CoG / Hosted Games gamebooks tend to be larger than 50 k words. But, honestly, is there anything wrong with a shorter work, especially if it comes at a lower per word price. For example, if a 120 k word gamebook costs 2.5 or 3, a 50 k word writing could be $ 1.

I am under the impression that many reader complain about gamebook apps being too short no matter how long it is (well, I guess nobody did that with Tin Star).

I am asking that I am not a very productive writer and dealing with a 100 k word work seems to take ages and burnout appears as a problem as well.

All these questions come from my anticipation for the 50 k word Path of Light to hit the market and the temptation to make the next gamebook I am writing that short.

I am sorry, I didn’t post in the right section and I am not quite sure how to move it.

You can ask a moderator to change it: @CJW.

Also, Choice of the Dragon and Choice of Broadsides were like 30K and 40K respectively, and they were awesome. So I think it all depends on the story, and if you can find a balance between good replay ability and a decent length for the first play through.

On another note, I’d say that a 120k HG would go for $1.99, and a CoG of the same length would go for $2.99.

But, just as a bit of advice, I think it’s best to write gamebooks of at least 85k, as your price is then $1.99 (for a HG. A Cog would be $2.99), which is double the price of a 50k gamebook, for only 35k more words. Plus, if the price is $1.99+ it gets published on all four platforms, whereas gamebooks going for $0.99 don’t go on Google Chrome.

1 Like