Question for writers. How did you improve your vocabulary and writing style as a native and non-native English speaker?

Your past experiences may help me improve. Sometimes I spend a lot of time looking for one word until I give up.

Do you keep Sheets with important words? And how do you learn new words?

Was your writing style bad at first, or were you naturally good?

8 Likes

I wasnā€™t born with english. I speak 4 languages. Uranus birth tongue wich cannot be written. Then the other language from the Invader lol which was crap and I did everything to forget it. (You canā€™t alas lol). Then french, and finally english.

When I started learning English it was in school. Then stuff happen and my education stopped.

When I finally picked english again, it wasnā€™t back in school here where I live (Canada), the teacher kicked me out of her class. And I dropped out shortly after for reasons.

I remember a friend sold me a copy of Baldurā€™s Gate 2. And it was in English. That was my inspiration to get back and learning the language since when I tried playing it, I didnā€™t understand squat.

I also used (back then it was crappy, today translators are better) Babel Fish Translator. I used it to translate a fanfic I was reading, word by word. Then started watching movies and documentary in English. And never stopped since then. I even wrote fanfics about Tv show even if my English was crap.

But if you keep at it, you improve. Especially nowadays. You have the luxury of the internet. There are tools that are free like Grammarly which you can install and you can learn from it how your spell is going.

You can check videos on YT and learn more there.

But there is no fast trick, you just keep at it until your own dreams are in English with whatever your birth language is as subtitles.

Link: https://app.grammarly.com/

Link: Learn English Online: Free Courses for All Levels - Busuu

No. I donā€™t use sheets. ever.