Need help with immersion

I am currently writing a story about a apocalyptic world where the story starts right from the beginning of the apocalypse.As this my first attempt at writing I am having a hard time making the story immersive enough,currently its feels like a low budget indie movie but I want to do better.I want the world I make seem real and the reader to feel involved in it but as I am not an English graduate or a book lover I find myself at loss of words to describe what I want to actually convey.I looked over google but most of the answer were useless or completely off topic.I need this story to be immersive enough or else the actual meaning of the story would go unnoticed.I don’t know hoe you guys can help but I need one.

There’s many websites which might help you learn words and get you used to the richer part of the English language, if you’re at a loss of words.
If you need inspiration… music!

4 Likes

hmm…well I don’t know if I can help much m, I’m an engineer not a writer, but let’s see.

First thing I’d have to ask is what sort of apocalypse is it, are we talking nuclear winter, massive solar flare, deadly pandemic, etc? this will give a basis as to what sort of difficulties the MC will face. If you have that basis it will help the inspiration.

3 Likes

If the problem is simply a lack of vocabulary, head right on over to vocabulary.com

I think around 15-20 minutes a day should do wonders

4 Likes