Ideally, what do you look for in a first time demo?

Hello,

This question seemed a bit too broad for just a poll, but I’m curious what everyone thinks is an ideal demo that’s posted for the first time. Both authors and readers.

As a reader, I’m not completely picky. Correct spelling and punctuation is a must however. If you’re writing throughout the demo is rife with spelling errors, I’m immediately turned off. It looks unprofessional and gives the impression the author was too lazy to spell check their own work.

Neatly spaced paragraphs is another high priority must. It’s very hard to read writing that’s all cramped together. Especially when it’s on smaller devices.

Coding wise? I don’t mind if I run into bugs. That’s just part of the writing process.

As an author, my expectations for my own demos are similar to my expectations as a reader. Correct spelling, punctuation, grammar, and spacing between paragraphs is a must. It’s not only nice when I read it as a demo, but when I’m tinkering with the code in CSIDE it’s easier to work with.

But I am a perfectionist when it comes to bugs. I don’t like it when my code bugs out and I would prefer to not have it bug out at all, but I know that’s pie in sky.

As for length wise? I’d like to offer my readers a decent chunk to enjoy. So maybe the first three or four chapters for a first time demo. I’m okay with having readers being able to access pathways that are just bare bones (read: coding structure is there but narrative isn’t) since I typically put the coding in first and then come in and add the narrative later.

22 Likes