GScript - A Javascript/ChoiceScript Framework Project

Hey there.

This is a framework to try to give new possibilities for game making, trying to simplify usage of JavaScript for someone making a CS Game.

As a TypeScript programmer I decided to make this little side project as a fun past time and I’m now sharing if others are interested in trying it out. It might be confusing at first but I tried to make the documentation easy to follow.

The project is over at my github, as is the documentation and installation instructions.

To download it, visit the link above and click on the Code button and then ‘Download as zip’. Or click the link below:

https://github.com/F-Ramos-B/gscript/archive/master.zip

Installation instructions

Simply extract the contents of the file to your dfabulich-choicescript-8456ed7\web\mygame folder and overwrite index.html when asked.

I’ve included a startup.txt file that uses some of the functions of the framework, but make sure to backup your startup.txt if you have one already!

At the start of your game, after you declare your variables, add this line so the framework can start:

*script startup()

I’ve added a sample startup.txt file as an example that uses some of the functions this framework provides.

Disclaimer

This project is has no involvement or support from Choice of Games LLC and is entirely personal. I may at any time decide to stop supporting this project and will not be held accountable if it screws up something on your game or if a ChoiceScript update breaks something.

I do not know if Choice of Games LLC will accept games published using this or any sort of games using JavaScript at all so use this on your game at your own peril.

This project uses Lodash (https://lodash.com/) for internal operations and it comes bundled with the installation.

Documentation

Click the github project link above and scroll down for documentation and examples of things you can do and use.

10 Likes