God Mode

So I was wondering how you guys felt about there being a God Mode in choice games. I noticed some have made DLC where your MC gets stat bonuses and/or skills and abilities by paying additional fees. I’ve bought them every time.

These kind of take the challenge out of the game at times. It can also make it more fun and less tedious. Rather than checking your stats each time you have to make a decision, you can more easily make decisions with less consequence.

Saw this done with Zombie Exodus: Safe Haven and The Lost Heir series.

4 Likes

I found it ridiculous and as an author, I will never cheap my product to become a linear storyless mess without reason. It becomes a linear game with a linear story where basically all is same each time to play.

For me, It is an insult to the work of authors it is like grabbing a Shakespeare book And tampering it letting only a few pages.

That is my visceral opinion not a universal truth and I understand that for others is a very different concept of What IF is. For me, they are first and foremost stories. not games.

Still, This type of tampering is very popular and helps to sustain authors so for many authors could be a good revenue.

I personally prefer the In-app purchases add some tangible to story as a mission or small stuff

5 Likes

Personal rule of hand:

When a choice game tries to tell you you NEED the dlc for a satisfying story, something’s amiss.

It’s one thing to have DLC that genuinely ADDS to the story, and a whole different to have DLC that let’s you play the game to begin with.

12 Likes

that kinda happens in ‘choice of romance’, but it never really caught on. it also bring us back to the question of 'how much ‘choice’ is there in a choice game when decent outcomes rely solely on minmaxing etc?

1 Like

P2W is a blight upon the gaming world.

6 Likes

I think that DLC should only be used for stuff like side stories or bonus story routes.

1 Like