Does the author get money from the ads of a free game?

I am really intrested if the author gets money from the free games. (I am from Finland so I am not a native speaker so sorry for the grammar.)

2 Likes

They do. It’s pretty minimal, though. I think the most I ever made in a month was $18.38, and by comparison I made just over $1,000 in actual sales that same month.

14 Likes

Free games that show promotions in a smart way can regularly get more cash-flow than paid games, and they’re substantially more abundant.

Not necessarily. I’d argue that paid games generate more revenue than free ones. It’d take like 1:1000 on paid vs. free to be on the same level.

Unless you’re a giant like Google with YT where companies would pay to have their ads shown on there, it’s always profitable turning your games into paid model. The problem, however, becomes accessibility.

1 Like

If that is about CoG games, perhaps? I have no knowledge of that, but mobile “freemium” games earn way more than any PC or console games combined.

A good example would be Fire Emblem Heroes. In its first year earned more than all Fire Emblem games on any console/pc combined since the 90s. Of course, this goes to games that offer either time savers or gatcha style. Probably free games that live only on ads earn waaaaay less.

2 Likes

And that’s what it is. Freemium is built on a mix of ads and extras to purchase. If ads alone were enough to be economically viable, you wouldn’t have to pay $5.99 a month just to watch Hulu the way it used to be for free ten years ago.

7 Likes