Urban Fantasy Game | Interest Check (POLL RESULTS)

nonbinary-inclusive
modern-fantasy
gender-choice

I’m new to ChoiceScript and interactive fiction in general, though I have written for visual novels before. I’ve wanted to create an interactive fiction game or full-length visual novel for some time now, and I feel I’ve come up with a concept that would work well. Just wanted to see if people would be interested in it!

The general idea: It’s an urban fantasy game where mortals, or humans, and supernaturals live together, but it is far from peaceful. You play a private investigator who finds themself way over their head when trying to solve what they thought to be a simple missing persons case.

Check below if you want more info:

Case

I’m still working out the plot and the major players in it, but essentially the private investigator is looking into a missing persons case that becomes a murder case. From there, they must uncover the murderer, only to realize their case has wider repercussions and dilemmas than they previously imagined.

If this gets too complicated or has too many holes, I might switch up the case and its details. That still remains to be seen though!

Worldstate

The supernatural world had been hidden for decades, but in recent years, it was discovered by humans. More than ten years later, the species are getting along better than before, but tensions are still high. The investigator lives in a bustling city home to both mortal and supernatural species, though they congregate in different areas.

Player character

You can choose the gender and sexuality of the private investigator. Also, you can choose which species you’d like them to be. There are four options decided right now — human, demon, werewolf, and half-siren. Each species will come with a stat advantage and (probably) disadvantage; a vampire investigator would start the game with high charisma, for instance.