The Shadow Society (WIP) Writing Update on #1545

Shadow-Society-Logo-Blue

“There exist a world parallel to ours; alike in many aspects, yet different where it matters most. The only thing we know for sure is that certain people of that world have found a way to get to ours. Don’t trust them. And, whatever you do, look out for your own shadow.”
-Unknown

Edit 3/2 - 2020: “The Shadow Society” releases on February 6th 2020, three days from now. If you’d like to wait for the release before diving into the story, it’s recommended that you hold off on playing the demo!

Hey, everyone! This is my very first attempt at writing an interactive novel, and I finally feel confident enough to upload it as a WIP.

Warning: This story contains profanity and violence (in the full book some of which may be considered grotesque).

EDIT 5/2 - 2020: The demo is down, since the game releases tomorrow.

The story starts off in a dream that alters something within you, forcing you to return to your now abandoned childhood home to search for answers.
Little do you know that the abnormalities of the house is tied to another realm; a realm your ancestors have a mysterious connection to. But where their story closed, yours remains to be written: Will you trust what you see, or search for a different truth? Will you put faith in those who claim to be your friends and shun the enemy, or turn the tables around?
You may find your best friend, your arch nemesis, or even fall in love during your journey. The outcome is up to you.

“The Shadow Society” is the first book out of three planned ones. It is heavily focused on characters; the supporting ones as well as the MC, which you build yourself through various choices. It has themes related to fantasy, the supernatural, relationships and politics, among others. Currently, the prologue and five chapters are done, included in the demo, with roughly 300,000 words.
The demo covers around one third or so of the full book.