The history of interactive fiction

I plan on studying history and I was alway curious about the history of interactive fiction. I noticed that interest in choice driven adventures and particularely text adventures rose a lot in the last years and I am really happy that something that became so niche is becoming popular again.

I am pretty new in the IF world. I have been on this forum for a long time but I never really went outside of it so my knowledge of the domain is really limited and I know we have a lot of veterans here. If any of you wish to share your knowledge of the history of interactive fiction I think it could be something really interesting to discuss.

I’m not very knowledgeable about it, but I first got into reading IF when I discovered R.L. Stiens’ interactive novelettes in the 2000s. I might be wrong, but he could have been the one who started, or at least revived, IF in the 1980s.

It depends on how far back you want to go, and what you consider interactive fiction. I grew up on the original Zork text games (as well as others), and while considered an ‘Adventure Game’ (when Sierra did their first adventure games, it was essentially parser games but with pictures).

Of course, others would say that it really isn’t interactive fiction since there wasn’t much variation…

As far as you want to go! Absolutely all of it interest me. Both choice driven games and text adventures.

I personnally started with R.L Stiens. The special goosebumps were a real blast to read.

I would assume you’d look at book stuff like the Choose Your Own Adventure stories with Edward Packard and the Cave of Time? Those were a tad basic though.

The story about how Queen Elizabeth wanted to see Falstaff in love, leading to Shakespeare writing The Merry Wives of Windsor, always struck me as an early foray into interactive fiction.

I guess you have to be a Queen to make that work, though.

I started with the Fighting Fantasy print game books in the 80’s