Tell Me If There's A Way Home (WIP: UPDATE 1.22.22)

Hey, y’all!

I’m new to creating interactive fiction but am not new to writing. I’ve had this idea in my head since the beginning of the pandemic and it wasn’t until I discovered this particular medium for storytelling that I finally felt ready to pour my heart into this project. The events, characters, and themes in this story are all held very close to my chest and I’m excited (and scared shit-less) to finally be able to share a piece of myself with y’all.

Currently, the prologue and part 1 of chapter 1 are available to play through. It’s very short right now, but I’m hoping to keep my updates shorter just so I can push more content out more consistently. I would love any feedback on mistakes that I’ve made, be it formatting issues or technical issues. I am brand new to coding, so please feel free to point out my mistakes in that area, as well.

“Red beats its way into your eyelids, the heat of the air fills the smallest crevices of your lungs. Kicked-up sand settles into the collar of your shirt. You are not home.

You will never be home. There is no home for people like you.

But this place holds a stance of familiarity, tastes like a memory you’ve digested and regurgitated before. Sickly sweet, the lick of saccharin against your tongue and the reminder of rust against your lip.

You are so terribly, terribly lost.”

Fated forever to roam an existence unknown to you, searching for this concept of absolution that escapes your every grasp, leaves you bleeding, leaves you gasping, you find yourself stuck in a town for the lost. Here, you will find what you’re looking for. Here, you will remember who you are.

(Or will you?)

There’s something to be said about the monsters you keep.